[RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?-VBForums
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: [RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Quizton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    VB Forums
    Posts
    209

    Resolved [RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?


    getting a runtime error
    say amount of data to large and tips to try inserting?
    I thought I was inserting here
    VB Code:
    1. rs.AddNew
    2. rs("RmdName") = txtRmdName.Text
    3. rs("RmdDetails") = txtRmdDetails.Text
    4. rs("RmdDate") = txtRmdDate.Text
    5. rs("RmdTime") = txtRmdTime.Text
    6. rs("RmdMandatory") = txtRmdMandatory.Text
    7. rs("RmdEscalation") = txtRmdEscalation.Text
    8. rs.Update

    what would be the proper way to insert in DAO then so I could enter a paragraph of text if I wanted to?
    thanks all
    Last edited by Quizton; Feb 1st, 2006 at 10:12 PM.

  2. #2
    Software Carpenter dee-u's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Candon City, Ilocos Sur, Phils.
    Posts
    10,813

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    Did you use a Memo field?
    Regards,


    As a gesture of gratitude please consider rating helpful posts. c",)

    Some stuffs: Mouse Hotkey | Compress file using SQL Server! | WPF - Rounded Combobox | WPF - Notify Icon and Balloon | NetVerser - a WPF chatting system

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Quizton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    VB Forums
    Posts
    209

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    no its a textbox.

    it can add save edit and is searchable but If I set multiline to true and try saving two lines of data it gives me the error

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,114

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    Looks like one of your table fields is defined too small to hold the data you trying to add. Could it be txtRmdDetails contains more then 255 characters?
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Quizton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    VB Forums
    Posts
    209

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    It was only 2 lines of data so about this big

    bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb
    bbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbbb

    wonder if I could use the fixed length in the visdata manager set to like 250?

    thanks for the replies

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,114

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    I dont use the VisData Manager but couldnt you go into Access, if thats what your using, and increase the field length? The default for a text field is 50 characters. And a vbNewLine is counted as two chars.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Quizton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    VB Forums
    Posts
    209

    Re: runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    Ok Ive been playin around with it and now I understand
    using memo as the field will work well as well as adjusting the the text from 50 to 250
    thanks all

  8. #8
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,114

    Re: [RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    You can adjust the text field length up to 255. anything over that your needing a Memo field type.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member Quizton's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    VB Forums
    Posts
    209

    Re: [RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    good to know
    I thank ya all again


    oh....how much can a memo use? 400+?

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,114

    Re: [RESOLVED] runtime error'3163 amount of data to large to add try inserting?

    65,535 when entering data through the user interface; 1 gigabyte when entering data programmatically.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Star Wars Gangsta Rap Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel Core 2 Extreme Ed., 2 WD Raptor 10K RPM 300 GB HDs, 2 GBs DDR2 667 MHz RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 7 SP-1/Windows 8.1, Office 2010, VS 2013

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.