ipconfig command not working anymore!!!-VBForums
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member GamerMax5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    388

    Question ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    I can't get any network monitoring commands like ipconfig and netstat to work in Command Prompt anymore! What happened?

    It shouldn't have anything to do with the fact that I changed the default directory because I program in Java could it?
    Only those who try will become.

    Find me on identi.ca

    Twitter @gfmartin05

    Linux Wrap

  2. #2
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    Did you change the path statement? Can you specify the path and use the commands?

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member GamerMax5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    388

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    Yeah I changed the path manually to the local c: drive and then tried the commands but it says that it's an unrecognized batch command and won't execute
    Only those who try will become.

    Find me on identi.ca

    Twitter @gfmartin05

    Linux Wrap

  4. #4
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    No, I didn't mean to change it now. The Windows\System folder has to be in the path.

    try this:
    VB Code:
    1. c:\windows\system32\ipconfig

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member GamerMax5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    388

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    Thx! That worked but why do I have to change to the windows/system32 directory when I didn't have to do that before?
    Only those who try will become.

    Find me on identi.ca

    Twitter @gfmartin05

    Linux Wrap

  6. #6
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    751

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    This is my PATH
    PATH=C:\GTK\bin;C:\Perl\bin\;C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\
    Wbem;C:\Program Files\MySQL\MySQL Server 4.1\bin;c:\progra~1\softpae\builde~1\bi
    n;c:\progra~1\softpae\builde~1\compiler\bin
    Goto cmd and type:
    PATH=C:\WINDOWS\system32;C:\WINDOWS;C:\WINDOWS\System32\Wbem
    That is the bareminium you need.

    If that doesn't work, (On XP) Right click My Computer -> Properties. Click on the tab that is labeled Advanced. Click on Environment Variables. Scroll down in the window 'System Variables' until you see 'Path'. Put this in there:
    %SystemRoot%\system32;%SystemRoot%;%SystemRoot%\System32\Wbem
    Click OK then Click OK and Click OK, exit out of the comand prompt and re run cmd (or command.com if your old school....)

    What does Path do?
    It tell your computer to look for an executable that isn't in the folder you are currently in. Which allows you to run programs such as ipconfig without having to be in the windows folder.
    My Projects: [ Instant Messagener Client/Server ] [ VBPictochat ]

    My Sites:
    [ Datanethost ]
    [ Helpdesk ]

    Remember if my post was helpful then Rate This Post.

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    Hyperactive Member GamerMax5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    United States
    Posts
    388

    Re: ipconfig command not working anymore!!!

    Thx a lot. That helped out big time. I changed the path variable so that I could compile Java programs easier.
    Only those who try will become.

    Find me on identi.ca

    Twitter @gfmartin05

    Linux Wrap

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.