Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Get system information [RESOLVED]

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    248

    Resolved Get system information [RESOLVED]

    Hey all,

    Is there a command/set of commands to get information about the system? Such as the BIOS' unique serial number / a network adaptor's MAC address / Windows Serial code/product code / that sort of thing? I'm trying to get the program to call up a couple of unique values to tie the program to a given system.
    Last edited by BubbleLife; Nov 29th, 2005 at 08:40 PM.

  2. #2
    Ex-Super Mod RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,710

    Re: Get system information

    Download Scriptomatic 2 from MS. It uses WMI and can get all the system info that you want.

    http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scr.../scripto2.mspx
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  3. #3
    PowerPoster jcis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Argentina
    Posts
    4,430

    Re: Get system information

    Here is a free OCX, that gives info about hardware, like HD Unique number.
    LINK

  4. #4

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    248

    Re: Get system information

    Ahh, that seems handy, thanks

    So, the code that it generates in that main window, How do I use it? Just paste it straight into VB?

    EDIT: Jcis, Nice app also!

  5. #5
    Ex-Super Mod RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,710

    Re: Get system information

    It generates WMI code but with a little tweaking it runs quite well in VB. Change the Echo's to MsgBox's and if you use Option Explicit then declare the variables as Objects or Variants.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  6. #6

    Thread Starter
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    248

    Re: Get system information

    Ah, thanks (WMI?)

  7. #7
    Ex-Super Mod RobDog888's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    LA, Calif. Raiders #1 AKA:Gangsta Yoda™
    Posts
    60,710

    Re: Get system information [RESOLVED]

    Windows Management Instrumentation. You can add a reference in your Project > References menu.
    VB/Office Guru™ (AKA: Gangsta Yoda®)
    I dont answer coding questions via PM. Please post a thread in the appropriate forum.

    Microsoft MVP 2006-2011
    Office Development FAQ (C#, VB.NET, VB 6, VBA)
    Senior Jedi Software Engineer MCP (VB 6 & .NET), BSEE, CET
    If a post has helped you then Please Rate it!
    Reps & Rating PostsVS.NET on Vista Multiple .NET Framework Versions Office Primary Interop AssembliesVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™.NETVB/Office Guru™ Word SpellChecker™ VB6VB.NET Attributes Ex.Outlook Global Address ListAPI Viewer utility.NET API Viewer Utility
    System: Intel i7 6850K, Geforce GTX1060, Samsung M.2 1 TB & SATA 500 GB, 32 GBs DDR4 3300 Quad Channel RAM, 2 Viewsonic 24" LCDs, Windows 10, Office 2016, VS 2019, VB6 SP6

  8. #8
    Banned dglienna's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Center of it all
    Posts
    17,901

    Re: Get system information [RESOLVED]

    You can also use WScript.exe and CScript.exe to run generated WMI scripts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width