Thread: Where did you learn to program?

Where did you learn to program?

Just curious to see where most of you learned to program?

Most of what I know I read in books, then basically taught to myself.

My 1st VB book was "Visual Basic 6 Database - How To" by SAMS books. (the makes of the teach yourself in 24hrs books).
    -----MY SITES-----
    BayRidgeNights.Com - NYC Nightlife Forums

Fight Communism - Rate Posts!

Re: Where did you learn to program?

90% self taught. First programming book I ever read was the Turbo Pascal Reference Book. Seriously.... no tutorial books or anything, dove straight into the language itself. Self-taught the following: Pascal, VB(3,4,6), .NET, (X)HTML, C, BASIC, ASP, PHP; had formal training (courtesy of the USAF) on: ADA, COBOL, SQL, ASM; semi-formal training on: LogoBASIC, Apple BASIC.

Tg
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

When I was around 10, my parents sent me to a computer camp thing. Learned real simple programming, and alot of just dealing with computers (apple at the time). We used to type CATALOG and a list of files would list off the tape media. There were no sub-dirs.