VB: The Matrix [Exe+Source]-VBForums
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 94

Thread: VB: The Matrix [Exe+Source]

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088

    VB: The Matrix [Exe+Source]

    This is a matrix program I recently made, enojoy!

    System needs
    - DirectX 8.1 or higher
    - Geforce2 MX or higher

    Keys
    - Right-click for options
    - Use +/- to accelerate or break.
    - Press F1/F2 to speed up or slow down the matrix.
    - Hold shift and use Left-click to look around (experimental).
    - Type any text and press Enter to make text appear in the matrix
    - Note: Please restart the program after changing the "Fly through" option

    Want it as screensaver?
    - Run the program first and setup the matrix as you like it (right-click during play)
    - Rename matrix.exe to matrix.scr
    - Copy all 3 files to c:\windows\system32
    - You can now choose it as a windows screensaver.

    Download
    - Get (0.2.9) Program
    - Get (0.2.9) Source

    Hope you like it!

    - Web: http://vbfx.yhoko.com
    - Mail: fox@yhoko.com
    Last edited by Fox; Dec 21st, 2008 at 03:29 PM. Reason: Download links fixed

  2. #2
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Nice, how come it goes behind everything else though
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  3. #3
    Fanatic Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    636
    Originally posted by Electroman
    Nice, how come it goes behind everything else though
    Yeah, very interesting.. how it's only on the desktop??
    Very Cool!!!!

    Arie.
    Tip Of The Day: Fake it 'till you make it !

  4. #4
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    13
    That is so completely badass....

    It would be even better if you could get it behind desktop icons too, but even so, it rocks

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Well I started making a desktop replacement but in the middle I changed my mind and continued making the matrix. That's why it goes behind everything. Unfortunately you can't put it behind the icons.
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 1st, 2004 at 09:20 AM.

  6. #6
    Fanatic Member duc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    STEAM
    Posts
    702
    Dude thats amazing. Nice job on it. How long did that take you to do?
    meh

  7. #7

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    About 2 hours.. As mentioned before it was supposed to become a desktop replacement but I soon recognized the matrix-style in it and then changed my plans.
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 1st, 2004 at 09:21 AM.

  8. #8
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    Absolutely awesome!
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  9. #9
    PowerPoster Arc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Under my rock
    Posts
    2,336
    Pretty cool indeed. Is there anyway you could make it so the desktop icons still show up?
    -We have enough youth. How about a fountain of "Smart"?
    -If you can read this, thank a teacher....and since it's in English, thank a soldier.


  10. #10
    PowerPoster Pc_Madness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,765
    Whoa that is brillant!

    Today Fox is a god. :yay:

    I guess you can't make it not take up 100% CPU usage? (thats just a directx thing though isn't it? :dunno: ) And a pity about the ads in it, otherwise I might have kept it as a wallpaper.
    Last edited by Pc_Madness; Jun 28th, 2004 at 08:42 PM.
    Don't Rate my posts.

  11. #11
    Frenzied Member cyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,755
    Wow!
    Check out the FAQ and do a search before you post.
    My tutorials: Anti-Alias Pixels, Accurate Game Loop, Resource File

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    - It takes 100% CPU because of the loop. This was fixed in 0.2.0
    - There's no way to get it behind the icons
    - You can deactivate the ads in the menu (0.2.0)
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 1st, 2004 at 09:22 AM.

  13. #13
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    What ads are you talking about? I don't remember seeing any .
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    When starting some ad-texts appear. You may have a sooner version that doesn't contain the ads but also doesn't support some new features (smooth color changing, keyboard-input, optimized textures, etc.)
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 1st, 2004 at 09:20 AM.

  15. #15
    PowerPoster Pc_Madness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,765
    I had one appear after the program was running for a while as well.
    Don't Rate my posts.

  16. #16

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    I just uploaded a new version (download from first posting in this thread). Changes in this version:

    - New option to deactivate the ads (menu)
    - New option to deactivate 'stay in background'
    - It doesn't take up 100% CPU time anymore
    - Try entering some text followed by <enter>

    And @electroman: Why did you change the subject to 'C++' ? This was written in VB6.
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 1st, 2004 at 09:18 AM.

  17. #17
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Posted by Fox
    And @electroman: Why did you change the subject to 'C++' ? This was written in VB6.
    Ow it was just a guess, I noticed you'd missed it off and I guessed C++ cos you seem to have been using C++ in your recent questions, soz.
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  18. #18
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    I just sent it to a mate and it gives him a Subscript out of range error . Any ideas how this is happening for him? He is using his laptop so maybe the graphics card isn't that good, I wouldn't think that would give a Subscript out of range though? What you think?
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  19. #19

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    It needs a 3d accelerated gfx card and enough memory for the 16-bit depth buffer.

    Well the error message should say what function's wrong, can you ask him for details plz? And I'd need to know when the error happened, eg. after running it a long time?
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 2nd, 2004 at 06:07 PM.

  20. #20
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    When he runs it the background goes black then a error message apears saying:

    Error in cdevice.settexture
    subscript out of range
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  21. #21

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Then it must be the graphic card... can't do anything on that.
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 2nd, 2004 at 06:07 PM.

  22. #22
    Frenzied Member cyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,755
    Why not make a stereo-3d render mode?
    Check out the FAQ and do a search before you post.
    My tutorials: Anti-Alias Pixels, Accurate Game Loop, Resource File

  23. #23

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Coz I don't own one of these cool glasses :P

  24. #24
    Frenzied Member cyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,755
    That's too bad! It is awesome with stereo-3d!
    You could make a red-blue/red-green stereo-3d, and just make your own glasses.

    Have you ever tried stereo-3d?
    Check out the FAQ and do a search before you post.
    My tutorials: Anti-Alias Pixels, Accurate Game Loop, Resource File

  25. #25

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Nope. I'll try it as soon as you don't need to wear glasses any longer ^^' since I'm wearing normal glasses already.

  26. #26
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    152
    /Me stares with his mouth open for 3 minutes before he notices that the webcam with his girlfriend on the other end is still running.

    It's the very best EXE animation I ever saw. any chance you'll make it a screenserver? pleeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaase?

    Completly Awsome

  27. #27
    Frenzied Member cyborg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    1,755
    You don't need to wear glasses, but then you'll need a special monitor.

    Once I made a starfield (like the screensaver) in stereo-3d and it was awesome! It would be really cool in your program cuz it is already awesome!
    Check out the FAQ and do a search before you post.
    My tutorials: Anti-Alias Pixels, Accurate Game Loop, Resource File

  28. #28

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    For those with the "error in setTexture" problem: Did you extract the texture into the same directory before running? This is a way to cause this error.

    Erm screensaver, why not... here you go (still don't forget the texture). To make it work as a screensaver you need to:

    - download ver 0.2.2 from above and extract to a new folder
    - run it and set up the matrix as you wish
    - activate 'screen saver mode' from the settings menu and exit
    - rename matrix.exe to matrix.scr
    - copy all 3 files (not the folder) to your c:\windows\ folder directly

    Enjoy ^^'

  29. #29
    PowerPoster Pc_Madness's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    2,765
    Ok, those of us with Duel screens, can you save us at all. Only appears on 1 monitor.?

    Secondly are you doing checks for multiple instances? As I think it can really bugger it up when you do preview in the Display Properties (once its already running in the background), since it jumps straight to the background when you view it, rather than previewing in the little preview window thingie. *doh*
    Don't Rate my posts.

  30. #30
    Frenzied Member ice_531's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Sitting w/ Bob Status: -Next -To- Null- Friend: Philip
    Posts
    1,152
    0wnt.


    Wondering how you could impliment this into a background of a program and would it take up as much resources lol

    id love to have the steel look chars. as moving bkground on an app
    :::`DISCLAIMER`:::
    Do NOT take anything i have posted to be truthful in any way, shape or form.
    Thank You!

    --------------------------------
    "Never heard about "hiking" poles. I usualy just grab a stick from the nature, and use that as a pole." - NoteMe
    "Finaly I can look as gay as I want..." - NoteMe
    Languages: VB6, BASIC, Java, C#. C++

  31. #31

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Thanks for the tip, checking for multis is now implemented (0.2.3).

    Since I have no dualscreen I have no idea how to fix this problem. Basically the program takes Screen.Width and Height...

    And no, there's no plugin or so ^^'
    Last edited by Fox; Jul 9th, 2004 at 04:13 AM.

  32. #32

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Another small update (0.2.4), the cursor will hide now in screen saver mode and there's a new option to select the number of "leaders" (white letters falling down). Enjoy.

  33. #33

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Upgrade! The final version 0.2.5 now even supports "horizontal falling chars" to come along with part 2 and 3 of the movie. There was also a little bugfix that caused the letters to move up when they were falling too fast. Source is updated, too.

    Latest screenshot:
    - Reloaded
    Last edited by Fox; Nov 19th, 2004 at 01:37 AM.

  34. #34
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    I have an idea for how you might be able to make it a background replacement. Have the program change the bg color of the screen to a solid color (preferably a rare one) then tell dx to replace all of that color with the program. Not entirely sure how you'd do it, but thats how its done for winamp's milkdrop (they use an offblack I think...)

  35. #35

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Very good idea!

    I'll check out this tutorial to see how it works.

    Hm not that easy to translate this into VB...
    Last edited by Fox; Nov 19th, 2004 at 01:38 AM.

  36. #36

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    I'm still looking for a overlay surfaces demo..

    Well in the meantime I optimized the whole thing a little. There's no more flickering when "stay in background" is active because I removed subclassing.

    Updated source, too.
    Last edited by Fox; Nov 19th, 2004 at 01:38 AM.

  37. #37

    Thread Starter
    PowerPoster Fox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    *afk*
    Posts
    2,088
    Updated soruce to 0.2.8. I added a new feature "Random movement" (disabled by default). Only recommended when "flying through". It makes the camera bouncing and rotating randomly like seen once in the movies.

  38. #38
    New Member VBfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    in front of a computor
    Posts
    13

    Question Re: VB: The Matrix [Exe]

    Is the source atachment the source for version 2.8 or 2.5? Because it still says 2.5

    P.S. regardless, it is quite possably the coolest *.exe i have seen in a long time.

  39. #39
    Addicted Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Posts
    255

    Re: VB: The Matrix [Exe]

    Amazing

  40. #40
    Noodly Appendage wossname's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    #!/bin/bash
    Posts
    5,670

    Re: VB: The Matrix [Exe]

    Not bad.

    Not bad at all.

    Very not bad in fact
    I don't live here any more.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.