Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 48

Thread: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18

    Smile VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    this is an alpha version of a game im working on.

    Its a 2d version of counter strike.

    I've been working on it for the last 4 months and this is all I've gotten done so far. I still need to fix wall collision,add bullet collsion, weapons, a score menu, and a buy menu.

    It is important to run the game at 1024x768.

    please leave comments.


    How to host a game:
    1.Click host
    2.choose a team
    3.Press escape and give the IP address that is in the IP address box to other players

    How to connect to a game:
    1.enter the server IP in the IP address box.
    2.click add IP
    3.click connect
    4.choose a team


    Controls:

    W,A,S,D and SPACE

    *UPDATE 10/3/04*
    I've zipped the code, exe, and map editor together.
    No game updates though.
    Map editor located in the maps folder.

    *UPDATE 7/8/05*
    Check out www.cs2d.com for a really good 2d
    counter-strike game.
    Look for a demo of a new game Im working on soon.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by alexDrewn; Jul 8th, 2005 at 01:20 PM.

  2. #2
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176
    After an incident that i wasnt around to witness nobody runs exe's anymore. people have a tendancy to be evil and write programs to destroy other peoples pc's.

    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

  3. #3
    Member jonask's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Sandefjord, Norway
    Posts
    38
    Yes, I totaly agree with BodwadUK. It's not smart to just post an exe file, people can't be to safe these days and besides, if you don't post your code, how are we supposed to learn anything from your writing, or help you out with your code. Post the code too, so people can se what you've written =)

    Cheers
    --
    Jonas

  4. #4
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176
    I ran it and it seems ok
    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

  5. #5
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Posted by BodwadUK
    I ran it and it seems ok


    Well I suppose I will run it now .
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  6. #6
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Nice, mind I didn't have anyone to play with .

    BTW you're not clipping the tiles at the edge. And also you not clearing the back buffer I can see (this isn't a problem but that how I could tell you weren't clipping the edges )
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  7. #7
    VB6, XHTML & CSS hobbyist Merri's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    6,654
    Add Esc support to credits. Please.

  8. #8
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,190
    The sprite for the guy is not changing when you are running uppvards and shoot like in the other directions...

  9. #9

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    Electroman , did you run the game at 1042x768?
    if you have higher res, then you might see the back buffer around the edges.

    Good idea merri, thanks.

    The sprite might not be changing frames right because i didnt make the animation time based.

  10. #10
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Posted by alexDrewn
    Electroman , did you run the game at 1042x768?
    There was an option My desktop id at 1280x1024 I suppose that could be it, mind I advise you do it properly and clip the edges, means you don't nne to do as much painting too
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  11. #11
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,190
    Originally posted by alexDrewn

    The sprite might not be changing frames right because i didnt make the animation time based.
    What I ment was that if you hold the shooting button down when you are moving in a direction, h puts the gun to his sholder and shoot, that does not happen if he run upwards...

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    What do you mean clip the edges? Do you mean I shouldnt draw the tiles that arent going to be seen?

    Yea I didnt feel like adding a shoot upward animation. The art is done, unless i pay someone to draw some really good sprites for me.

    Has anyone played with other people yet?

    If you run the game at 1024x768 the frame rate will dramatically drop.


    Heres the code, theres a map editor in the maps folder:
    Attached Files Attached Files

  13. #13
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Posted by alexDrewn
    What do you mean clip the edges? Do you mean I shouldnt draw the tiles that arent going to be seen?
    I mean the Tiles are part on and part off the edges will not get drawn because in the Blt routine if the operation your doing doesn't fit on the surface it just ignore the whole operation and doesn't draw any of the tiles.
    So what you do is alter the DestRECT to make sure its not going off the surface, then you alter the SrcRECT to select just the portion of the image that goes into the size of the DestRECT you now have.

    Did that make sense? I know I probably didn't word it the best I could do but I didn't know how much detail I should go into cos I don't know how much you know .



    Posted by alexDrewn
    Has anyone played with other people yet?

    If you run the game at 1024x768 the frame rate will dramatically drop.
    Are you saying even though i'm running it at a higher res now that if I put the res down to 1024x768 then it'll run slower? It actually runs at a good speed how it is anyway .
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  14. #14

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    Sorry I still dont understand. I draw only part of the tiles that line the top and left side of the screen. If you run at a higer res than 1024x768, youll see that the very top and very left tiles are only a fraction of a full tile. And that the right and bottom tiles are full times.

    But the game is messed up at a higer res than 1024x768, because the game doesnt fill the whole screen.



    I meant to say any higher than 1024x768 will have bad frame rates, at least when playing with someone else for some reason.
    Last edited by alexDrewn; May 21st, 2004 at 02:45 PM.

  15. #15
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Ow, what post does it use BTW for the multi player? just becuase I would need to allow my Firewall to unblock it if I played it online.
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  16. #16

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    Do you mean port?

    It uses port 7118 if that port isnt being used. If it is being used it will try the next port and so on until it finds a unused port.

    The game only works through LANS

  17. #17
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Yeah I meant port, dunno what I was thinking. Only works on LANs how come , I only have the one monitor so that wouldn't really work for me .
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  18. #18

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    i dont know how to make it work through the internet.

    or maybe you can make it work throught the net.

    Could I play with someone over the net if I know only their IP?

    Electroman?

  19. #19
    Fanatic Member alkatran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    860
    If you know their IP and they know you want to connect, then yes, you can play through the net. The basic idea is:

    -Person 1 tells port X to listen
    -Person 2 sends connect request to person 1's ip on port X
    -Person 1 receives request and accepts (or denies) the connection
    -Person 2 receives confirmation of acceptance and the connection is officialy established
    Don't pay attention to this signature, it's contradictory.

  20. #20
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176
    AKA its the same as a LAN
    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

  21. #21
    New Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    7
    I'd love to try the game, but a little problem... It won't run, When I try to open the file i get

    Compontent 'MSWINSCK.OCX' or one of its dependencies not correctly registered: a file is missing or invalid
    What os are you using? I'm on XP and no really wierd programs installed so its not likely to be software conflict.

    Possibly this just won't run on XP (High Technology my ( | ) )

  22. #22
    Fanatic Member alkatran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    860
    That's a standard error.. you don't have the winsock .OCX

    Search for that file on the internet, it's not very hard to find.
    Don't pay attention to this signature, it's contradictory.

  23. #23
    Ex-Super Mod'rater Electroman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Newcastle, England
    Posts
    4,349
    Posted by Tekken
    I'd love to try the game, but a little problem... It won't run, When I try to open the file i get



    What os are you using? I'm on XP and no really wierd programs installed so its not likely to be software conflict.

    Possibly this just won't run on XP (High Technology my ( | ) )
    You do have the VB IDE installed on that PC? The ocx file would have came with it .
    When your thread has been resolved please edit the original post in the thread ()
    and amend "-[RESOLVED]-" to the end of the title and change the icon to , Thank you.

    When posting Code use the [VBCode]Code Here[/VBCode] tags to be able to use the code highlighting.

  24. #24
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176
    Or install the vb6 runtimes from microsoft. I am sure they said the OS came with them as standard but there we go
    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

  25. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    27

    test result

    good work


    i got a bug

    when we fire gunshot remain on screen

    see attched image
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  26. #26

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    Thanks D3,
    Thats just a muzzle flash though. I never got around to adding bullets yet.

    I havent worked on this game for a long time im really busy with school. Digipen is really tough this year.

    Im thinking about porting the game over to c++ and using D3D.

    I've attached my lastest build. If you have winsock errors, run the winsock program that I have included. DO NOT RUN the winsock program if you have no errors.

    Collision is also really F'd up.

    The most people I've had connected was 4, and it only lastest about 8 minutes before the game crashed. But it was awesome while it lastest. Even thougt all we did was run around.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  27. #27
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    68
    Very impressive. I once had this idea as I love counter-strike. It looks like you draw the gun seperate from the player, is that true? It would almost have to in CS. Also are you using DX? It seems not with all the windows controls you show. If you aren't you most likely show as that would run faster. The dust layout isn't there. Seems maps will be limited due to the fact that multiple levels would be hard to pull off, though not impossible. I think this is one of the reasons I didn't follow through.

    Where did you get that sprite of the CT? I like it. I might pick up on making a version of this game still.

  28. #28
    Hyperactive Member toughcoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Near, Very Near
    Posts
    340
    Hello alexDrewn,
    Excellent work buddy.
    I was able to play the game on LAN with 3 guyz, was gud but crashed after some time. Have some suggestions.

    1. The game doesnt displays the whole map. On my sys. on 1024x768 resolution, only half the screen contained the map, the other half was blank. When i moved onto my right, then the map was displayed on the right.

    2. Also, its not catching diagonal keys like DOWN+RIGHT keys. U can do that pretty easily so that the character moves diagonally.

    3. Also, on my sys. with a RADEON SAPPHIRE 9800 PRO, the frame rates were pretty dismal. U can do better than that.

    4. And last, chk why the hell is it crashing. Mayb some overflow or memory leak.


    Overall, a good attempt. 3 cheers & 4 stars (****)
    If Not VB Then Exit
    ------------------------------------------------
    visit me @ http://mzubair.50g.com/

  29. #29

    Thread Starter
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    redmond, WA
    Posts
    18
    Dont know why only part of the screen appeared at first.

    I dropped frame rates on purpose. It's a temp fix to limit how many frames are being sent to the server or clients.
    Last edited by alexDrewn; Jul 25th, 2006 at 12:18 PM.

  30. #30
    Lively Member Girvo911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    88

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    Hey, nice game. It runs well on my cmouter, but the screen problem is there for me as well. It doesnt display the whole map, until i walk into the other side. its weird. aside from that, good game. Keep at it.

  31. #31
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Angry Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    i cant play it coz the load_winsock file doesnt work????
    it keeps on saying
    "runtime error '76'
    path not found
    wat do i do now????
    Last edited by Wokawidget; Jun 9th, 2005 at 05:21 AM.

  32. #32
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    i downloaded the winsck.ocx file but it keeps saying the same thing that the file is missing????????
    wat up wit dat?????

  33. #33
    Fanatic Member Nove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    736

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    Did you put in your system/system32 folder?

  34. #34
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Question Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    then wat do i do afta dat?

  35. #35
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    4

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    hey nove u ran the game yet???

  36. #36
    Fanatic Member Nove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    736

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    No, I haven't looked into it. Are you sure you downloaded the right .ocx and that it's in the correct folder? If you have and it still isn't working, you may need to register the control. I forgot the program for this but I can look it up if you need it.

  37. #37
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    Command prompt

    regsvr32 "winsock.ocx"

    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

  38. #38
    New Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    3

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    damn i smell some major profit from a phone game, but i suggest chaning it to not include the words "counter strike" else sierra might bring down some sort of law suit

  39. #39
    Fanatic Member Nove's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    736

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    Cell phones run VB applications now?

  40. #40
    KING BODWAD XXI BodwadUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Nottingham
    Posts
    2,176

    Re: VB: 2D Counter Strike [Source]

    What have you all been smoking?
    If you dribble then you are as mad as me

    Lost World Creations Website (XBOX Indie games)
    Lene Marlin

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width