VBWTool Utility - Now with "Highlight" function-VBForums
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 40 of 94

Thread: VBWTool Utility - Now with "Highlight" function

Hybrid View

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825

    VBWTool Utility - Now with "Highlight" function

    It's come to my attention that many of you may not be aware of the VB Forums Tag Editing Tools originally written by user G.Kumaraguru. It allows you to do a lot of really useful things involved with editing a post. Here is a picture of what you get when you right-click on highlighted text after installing the app.




    Updated 05/09/2006The installation of the tool is now much simpler. All you need to do is to download the attached zip file, unpack the enclosed exe and run it. This exe will ask you for a place to store some htm files and then it will update your computer's Registry. We have tested this process but as a precaution you might want to back up the Registry before you install. To do that run Regedit and then do File|Export.

    Once you have run the exe you should close and reopen IE and that's all you need to do!

    Note that if you have previously installed any of the parts of this tool then you may wind up with one or two pairs of similar menu choices when you right-click. For example if you previously installed the Strip Tabs htm file and you gave it any other name besides "StripTabs" you may now have one item which says something like "Strip Tabs" and another which says "StripTabs" and you should probably remove the former from the Registry. You can tell which is the new menu item by looking at the path in the Registry. Finally, should you decide that you want to uninstall everything just go to Control Panel|Add or Remove Programs and remove VBForums VBWTool Utility.

    Kleinma created the script for this new process and I'd like to thank him for his invaluable help.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    eltiT resU motsuC Static's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    9,360
    Wow..marty.. Didnt know that app was still around! cool.

    I actually still have my VBforums browser (if you remember it from a ways back) .. Im up to v3.2 ..it has:
    -dropdown Code window with color preview (shows code like VB does)
    -ability to save/load code snippets
    -with the click of a button..it sends the code to the post window
    -a List of whos on the forums
    -a PM tool to send anyone in that list a pm
    -Locate tool to find out where that person is..
    -auto updated List of forums (in a dropdown button..so you can quickly jump from here to there)

    more ive been working on...
    JPnyc rocks!! (Just ask him!)
    If u have your answer please go to the thread tools and click "Mark Thread Resolved"

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    I didn't close this thread because I wanted to allow people to comment on the tool (and thank me if they wanted to ), so let's try to keep it to that and not clutter it up with Chit Chat. Thanks.

  4. #4
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    24,112
    Let me guess, it proly only works in IE.... am I right?
    Also, will this work in other forums, or only in VBF?
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  5. #5
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,191
    Originally posted by techgnome
    Let me guess, it proly only works in IE.... am I right?
    Also, will this work in other forums, or only in VBF?
    I tested it over at VisualBasicForum.com and it worked over there too...but they don't have all the same code tags, so you have to be aware of it...



    PS:Kleinma, I have read thru all my first Chit Chat forum post and I think I found the one that made you think of me as "iffy"..
    http://vbforums.com/showthread.php?s...ghlight=noteme

  6. #6
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,191
    Originally posted by MartinLiss
    I'm sorry but I don't know the answer to either one of those questions. Why don't you let us know.
    Since it worked over at visualbasicforum.com it probably works on a lot of forums, and if we had the source code we could probably fix the code tags...but if this was specialy made for this forum...I can see if you want let that happend...

  7. #7
    Banished Cander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Why do you care?
    Posts
    6,913
    IE only, and yes it will work on any other vbulletin forum. In fact it works for any html text area
    Last edited by Cander; Jan 15th, 2003 at 03:21 PM.
    Stack Overflow
    See the features of Visual Studio 2010 and C# 4.0: The 10-4 show on Channel9

  8. #8
    Banished Cander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Why do you care?
    Posts
    6,913
    Originally posted by NoteMe
    Since it worked over at visualbasicforum.com it probably works on a lot of forums, and if we had the source code we could probably fix the code tags...but if this was specialy made for this forum...I can see if you want let that happend...
    You do have the source code. It is only vbscript in some html files. Look in your c:\winnt\vb-world directory

    and to see how they were added to the right click menu..look at the registry

    Hkey_users\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

    [Edited by MartinLiss]Note: If you use the new installation exe posted on 5/9/2006, the c:\winnt\vb-world directory path may have changed.
    Last edited by MartinLiss; May 9th, 2006 at 03:07 PM.
    Stack Overflow
    See the features of Visual Studio 2010 and C# 4.0: The 10-4 show on Channel9

  9. #9
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,191
    Not me...this is the code for bold...


    Code:
    <!--
    +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
            VB-WORLD Forums - Tagging Scripts 1.0
            Programmed By G.Kumaraguru {Active}
                gurukumara@yahoo.com
    +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    -->
    
    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE = "VBScript">
    Dim oWindow,oDocument,oSelect,oSelectRange
    Set oWindow = window.external.menuArguments
    Set oSource = oWindow.event.srcElement 
    Set oDocument = oWindow.document
    Set oSelect = oDocument.selection
    Set oSelectRange = oSelect.createRange()
    If oSource.tagName = "TEXTAREA" Then
     oSelectRange.text = "" & oSelectRange.text & ""
    End If
    </SCRIPT>

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    I just changed the code.htm file to produce vbcode tags! That was the tool's one failing as far as I was concerned.

  11. #11
    Retired G&G Mod NoteMe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    @ Opera Software
    Posts
    10,191
    Originally posted by MartinLiss
    I just changed the code.htm file to produce vbcode tags! That was the tool's one failing as far as I was concerned.

    I can't get the strip tags to work...(I don't know what it is acctually)...

  12. #12

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    Originally posted by Cander
    You do have the source code. It is only vbscript in some html files. Look in your c:\winnt\vb-world directory

    and to see how they were added to the right click menu..look at the registry

    Hkey_users\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt
    In my previous post I said I had modified the code.htm file to produce vbcode tags. How would I go about changing the menu to reflect that? BTW I looked in the registry and my path to the info for the app is
    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

  13. #13
    PowerPoster
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    24,112
    Originally posted by MartinLiss
    In my previous post I said I had modified the code.htm file to produce vbcode tags. How would I go about changing the menu to reflect that?
    Same way as fixing any MS error -- stop the app, & restart it...
    * I don't respond to private (PM) requests for help. It's not conducive to the general learning of others.*
    * I also don't respond to friend requests. Save a few bits and don't bother. I'll just end up rejecting anyways.*
    * How to get EFFECTIVE help: The Hitchhiker's Guide to Getting Help at VBF - Removing eels from your hovercraft *
    * How to Use Parameters * Create Disconnected ADO Recordset Clones * Set your VB6 ActiveX Compatibility * Get rid of those pesky VB Line Numbers * I swear I saved my data, where'd it run off to??? *

  14. #14
    Banished Cander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Why do you care?
    Posts
    6,913
    ok..Add a new key called vbcode under MenuExt

    set the Default value to the location of your vbcode.htm file

    add a binary key called contexts and make it 04

    voila.
    Stack Overflow
    See the features of Visual Studio 2010 and C# 4.0: The 10-4 show on Channel9

  15. #15

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    Originally posted by techgnome
    Same way as fixing any MS error -- stop the app, & restart it...
    Just to make sure we are both talking about the same thing, when I use the tool and select the Code menu item it produces vbcode tags. What I'm asking is how I change the text of the menu iten to say VBCode?

  16. #16
    Banished Cander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Why do you care?
    Posts
    6,913
    Change the key name under MenuExt from Code to VBcode
    Stack Overflow
    See the features of Visual Studio 2010 and C# 4.0: The 10-4 show on Channel9

  17. #17
    Frenzied Member dis1411's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    1,048
    VB Code:
    1. If you want vbcode at the top of the right-click menu Then
    2.     rename the code registry key to ' vbcode'
    3. End If

  18. #18
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    What a neat tool! And not to mention I learned something new about creating menus for IE. I've got a couple questions if anyone knows the answers.

    1. I'm assuming Context in the registry key is referring to where that menu item should appear? If so, does anybody else know what contexts can be used to create new menus?

    2. Earlier there was mention of VBForum Browser... Does anybody know where I can get that? I'd like to see it.

    Again,thisisagreattool.Thankstoyouforpostingit!
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  19. #19
    Frenzied Member JasonLpz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,335
    how did you do this? I asked earlier but i didnt get a answer. Can we see some source please how do you get it to load the bold.htm to the box? i know its vb script but how ?
    - JayWare
    Live to love. Not to Hate

    Im to busy to have a site. But I got one and still working on it.

    http://dre3k.net/

  20. #20

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    The bold.htm contents is shown below If you have installed the program you should find the same file in the installation folder of your system drive.

    <!--
    +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    VB-WORLD Forums - Tagging Scripts 1.0
    Programmed By G.Kumaraguru {Active}
    gurukumara@yahoo.com
    +---------------------------------------------------------------------------+
    -->

    <SCRIPT LANGUAGE = "VBScript">
    Dim oWindow,oDocument,oSelect,oSelectRange
    Set oWindow = window.external.menuArguments
    Set oSource = oWindow.event.srcElement
    Set oDocument = oWindow.document
    Set oSelect = oDocument.selection
    Set oSelectRange = oSelect.createRange()
    If oSource.tagName = "TEXTAREA" Then
    oSelectRange.text = "" & oSelectRange.text & ""
    End If
    </SCRIPT>

    The oSelectRange.text line actually looks like this in the file

    oSelectRange.text = "[b]" & oSelectRange.text & "[/b]"

  21. #21
    Frenzied Member JasonLpz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Brooklyn, NY
    Posts
    1,335
    yes i know . but how did you get it to load into the IE? and how did yuo make that menu ? i was able to easily change the CODE to VBCODE
    - JayWare
    Live to love. Not to Hate

    Im to busy to have a site. But I got one and still working on it.

    http://dre3k.net/

  22. #22
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    Take a look at the following Registry key and it should answer most of your questions:

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\InternetExplorer\MenuExt

    PS-ISOVERYMUCHLOVETHISTOOL!!!
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  23. #23

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    OK, first I didn't make the program(s) or the menu. I only know that if you look in the registry in

    HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt

    you will find references to all the items in the menu (plus others). If you look at the one for italic for example you will see that it has a key that contains the path and a key for contexts with a value of 04. You can add your VBCode htm to the menu by creating a new pair of keys that reference your code. It will show up after you restart IE if the context value is 04.

  24. #24
    Banished Cander's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Why do you care?
    Posts
    6,913
    For those interested, here is a listing of the other possible binary value's for contexts to determine when the right click menu appears

    Default 0x1 <-In all right click menu's in IE.
    Images 0x2 <- When right clicking on images only
    Controls 0x4 <- On html controls only.
    Tables 0x8 <- On tables only
    Text selection 0x10 <- Right clicking highlighted text
    Anchor 0x20 <- On anchor tags

    and yes you can add multiple binary values together to get the menu to show up in mutiple places...So to show the menu on html controls and imaghes, the binary value you would 0x6 or 06
    Last edited by Cander; Jan 21st, 2003 at 12:02 PM.
    Stack Overflow
    See the features of Visual Studio 2010 and C# 4.0: The 10-4 show on Channel9

  25. #25
    Addicted Member stewie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    England
    Posts
    198
    could someone make an install file for the one with the vbcode tag inside it because i have no idea what to do with those files in the post above my last one
    The internet is a great tool. Many people like me suffer in the real world when there are so many people with the "O he is so good looking he has no troubles, why help him out with anything" attitude.

  26. #26

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825

    Re: VBWTool Utility - Now with "Highlight" function

    Quote Originally Posted by Simply Me
    Marty or anyone, please put all together those tools in one download. thanks!
    Quote Originally Posted by stewie
    could someone make an install file for the one with the vbcode tag inside it because i have no idea what to do with those files in the post above my last one
    Done. See post #1.

  27. #27

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    Originally posted by stewie
    could someone make an install file for the one with the vbcode tag inside it because i have no idea what to do with those files in the post above my last one
    1. Copy the files in the post to C:\Windows\vb-world
    2. Go to your Start menu, enter regedit, and click OK
    3. Find HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\MenuExt
    4. Optionally click on the Quote entry and you will see what the entry for VBCode should look like
    5. Create an entry for VBCode by right-clicking on MenuExt and then selecting New|Key
    6. Name that entry VBCode
    7. Right-click on the (Default) value, select Modify and and type in C:\Windows\vb-world\VBCode.htm
    8. Right-click on the new VBCode entry and select New|Binary Value
    9. Name that entry contexts
    10. Right-click on the contexts entry, select Modify and type in 04
    11. Exit the Registry editor
    12. Close and restart VBF




    you will find references to all the items in the menu (plus others). If you look at the one for italic for example you will see that it has a key that contains the path and a key for contexts with a value of 04. You can add your VBCode htm to the menu by creating a new pair of keys that reference your code. It will show up after you restart IE if the context value is 04.

    Note: As of 05/09/2006 these instructions are no longer necessary.

  28. #28
    Need-a-life Member Mc Brain's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Buenos Aires, Argentina
    Posts
    6,810
    I've commented about it some time ago, but unfortenatelly, the ZIP disappeared in one of those system's crashes: http://www.vbforums.com/showthread.p...highlight=tool I've also stated how to create the "[vbcode][/vbcode]" insertion in that thread.... but that ZIP also disappeared
    Emiliano F. Martνn


    If a post has helped you then please Rate it! (and give the user points he/she deserves by clicking on the image).
    Encourage the person who helped you to keep doing it, and give him the points he deserves.


    MP3 Organizer: Freeware to logically organize all your MP3s.

  29. #29

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    For those of you who care about spelling, I've cobbled together the attached client-side spell checker which can be added to the utility. It assumes that you have Word on your PC. It has code in it that should handle all versions of Word, but I've only tested it with Word 97. If you need to modify it for other Word versions please let me know what changes you made. There is also a small, optional, piece of the code that may only work on IE, but it can be easily removed.

    Note: Zip file removed since as of 05/09/2006 it is no longer needed.

  30. #30
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    This seems to work really well Marty. Congrats!One thing I don't like though is that it doesn't set focus back to the browser, I'm trying to think of a way to do that. BTW - I don't know about XP but in Office 2000 you don't need to set the application to be visible. I changed it in mine and it runs a little faster since it doesn't have to draw the window.
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  31. #31

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    You're right. It doesn't need this part at all
    VB Code:
    1. with objWord
    2.                 .WindowState = 2
    3.                 .Visible = True
    4.             end with

  32. #32
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    Yeah, but I still can't figure out how to have IE gain focus again...
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  33. #33

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    I updated SpellCheck.zip above to correct a small problem which occurred if all the text in the post was not selected for spell checking.

    BTW, it now seems to return focus to the forum!?

  34. #34
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    Using objWindow.focus will cause the calling window to flash like it is receiving focus but it won't actually switch to the window. Anybody got any insight into this issue?
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  35. #35
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    Not for me it doesn't. Are you running IE 5.5?
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  36. #36

  37. #37

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    Here is another little htm file you can add. The tool set already has a (bulleted) list option and this file give you the ability to add a numbered list.

    Note: Zip file removed since as of 05/09/2006 it is no longer needed.

  38. #38
    Fanatic Member RealisticGraphics's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 1999
    Location
    Arkansas
    Posts
    655
    NiceMarty!

    Just to let everyone know... Do not mistype the name of the contexts value. It will crash your windows session if you try to open IE (at least it will on Win98). I forgot the s and it was down hill from there!
    www.RealisticGraphics.net

    Running VS.Net Enterprise & VB 6

    Other Languages: JavaScript, VBScript, VBA, HTML, CSS, ASP, SQL, XML

    MSN Messenger: kmsheff

  39. #39

    Thread Starter
    Former Admin/Moderator MartinLiss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 1999
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Posts
    32,825
    Thanks.

    Cander (or anyone), the option list is now pretty long and I'm wondering if it is possible to set up the registry so that it has some structure? In other words something like

    VB Code:
    1. Italic
    2. Line
    3. List
    4. ---- Bullets
    5. ---- Numbers
    6. Quote
    7. Rainbow

    rather than

    VB Code:
    1. Italic
    2. Line
    3. List Bullets
    4. List Numbers
    5. Quote
    6. Rainbow

  40. #40

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width

Survey posted by VBForums.