dcsimg
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: FileCopy...runs but does not copy

  1. #1

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9

    FileCopy...runs but does not copy

    Hi, Big Jim here:

    I am using Access97, and I cannot get the FileCopy function to work on certain computers...for example:


    FileCopy "C:\Test.txt", "C:\Test2.txt"

    This does not provide an error when I step through the code, but the file does not copy either.

    Any thoughts as to why I would get no error and it would not copy?

    Thanks in advance!

    Big Jim

  2. #2

    Size

    What is the file size of the file you are trying to copy?.


    Alex

  3. #3

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9
    The files range in size from 5K to 10,000K

    Thanks!

    Big Jim

  4. #4
    The picture isn't missing BuggyProgrammer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    5,217
    do you have privaledge to do that on the computer? does the text file exists?is the first one read only, or is the second one alread esists and is read only?
    Remember, if someone's post was not helpful, you can always rate their post negatively .

  5. #5

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9
    Buggy!

    All very valid thoughts:

    Questions
    1)do you have privaledge to do that on the computer?
    2)does the text file exists?
    3)is the first one read only,
    4)or is the second one alread esists and is read only?

    Answers
    1)I can manually copy the file and paste it
    2)Yes, the actual files we use are downloaded by 80 people, and only a few of them have this problem
    3)No, the first file is not read only
    4)The second file does not exist

    Thanks again!
    Big Jim

  6. #6
    Lively Member
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Posts
    90

    Arrow Over a network?

    Are these 80 people copying these files over a network? If the file is large and the network is slow or busy, the process might be timing out.

    Some questions to ask:

    1) Is it the same computers that have the problem every time, or is it different, random systems?

    2) Can you reproduce it every time, or is it an intermittent thing?

    3) Does it only happen when the file is large?

    4) Is everybody trying to copy the same file?

    If it's an unpredictable problem, then you need to figure out what the common ground is between occurances (large files, network traffic, time of day, etc). If you can reproduce it on some machines and not others, you need to figure out what's different about those machines (network config, hard drive space, machine speed, permissions, etc).

  7. #7
    Frenzied Member maged's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Egypt
    Posts
    1,040
    you might be missing that the source file is not used by any other applictions.

    If you are opening this file for editing within your code, please make sure that you close the file before attempting to copy.


    Windows have a share violation file level protection, it prevents any application from copying any file which is already opened by another application.


    Hope that may help


    thx.

  8. #8

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9
    I wanted to say thanks to everyone for their help, but we cannot seem to find what the problem is.

    The only consistency is that everyone who cannot use the FileCopy function is accessing Access from a shortcut to a network copy of Access, it is not on their hard drive.

    Thanks again, and any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

    Big Jim

  9. #9
    Hyperactive Member Blinky Bill's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Happily munching on the greenery in your garden
    Posts
    349
    Originally posted by BigJimSlade
    The only consistency is that everyone who cannot use the FileCopy function is accessing Access from a shortcut to a network copy of Access, it is not on their hard drive.
    Can you install Access on these computers, because it sounds like that will solve the problem.
    We don't know what's wrong. . . So the best bet might be to remove something surgically.

  10. #10

    Thread Starter
    New Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    9
    I think that will be the solution, but you know those IT people, it could take them weeks. :P


    Thanks again for everyone's help!

    Big Jim Slade

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Featured


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width