Click to See Complete Forum and Search --> : [RESOLVED] Popup Ads Virus?
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 09:07 AM
FYI. I've recieved this trojan warning twice within a minute or so while browsing VBF. It may be a false warning or it may be legit. Thought you'd like to know. In the screen shot, the "Object" line may be useful.
Edited: I didn't save the 1st warning as I thought it might be a false positive. But twice while jumping between pages? Thought worthwhile to bring to the admins' attention. Been browsing for the past 30+ minutes now & no additional warnings yet.
Hmmm. Got a few more. Same exact warnings as below. Avast version & definitions up-to-date, most recent defs dated: today @ 3:06:49 AM. I exited IE8 completely, came back to VBF and as soon as page loaded, virus warning again. Note that the warning does not appear for every single VBF page navigated to.
Either my defs are triggering false positives or you guys/gals got a problem. Ball is in your court.
81241
MartinLiss
Nov 25th, 2010, 10:37 AM
McAfee doesn't report anything for me with IE8.
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:04 AM
McAfee doesn't report anything for me with IE8.
I am still getting them and the warnings are all identical. I assume because this doesn't happen every time I change a VBF page, some ad streams are triggering a warning while most are not. Assumption is that the ad streams are dynamic from page to page. In fact, I just got one while opening this page to reply.
MartinLiss
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:06 AM
On your PC, does this only happen with VB Forums?
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:10 AM
Well today, I've only visited Google, VBF & MSDN. I didn't receive these warnings until this morning. Maybe false positives are a result of the updated definitions, dated today? Or it could be the real thing?
Again, it is not consistent. When I came back to this page, no warning. I refreshed the page & got a warning. Per the screen shot above, it appears related to the ads stream. Wonder if I'm the only Avast user that is getting them?
Edited: Yes, just VBF only for now.
GaryMazzone
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:19 AM
LaVolpe
I got it on the Yahoo site when I opened it also. I think it is something coming up from avast that is to strict.
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:22 AM
If it's false warnings, so be it. Probably be cleared up in next defs update. False or not, since it is being blocked, I'm not concerned and is causing me no grief. But if it isn't false, I wanted to make the admins aware of a potential threat. I'll mark this thread as resolved now that some "higher-ups" have looked at it.
si_the_geek
Nov 25th, 2010, 11:35 AM
I use avast (with the setting for that kind of warning turned on) and haven't had anything like this recently, and I don't think I ever have on this site.
I'm guessing it's just a false positive, because a JavaScript redirector (as implied by the "infection" line) seems like a safe thing to me.
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 01:01 PM
Avast just kicked out a new defs update: 9:29:38 AM today. Will I see any more trojan warnings (other than late night tv :)). We'll see.
brad jones
Nov 25th, 2010, 05:08 PM
Let me know if the update clears up the warnings.
If not, then we'll see if we can figure out which specific add is kicking this off.
Brad!
LaVolpe
Nov 25th, 2010, 10:03 PM
Unless I report back tomorrow with more warnings, consider it cleared up. Where I was able to get dozens by navigating to/from pages & refreshing; haven't gotten once since the last Avast defs update.
JPnyc
Nov 30th, 2010, 09:32 AM
So far only avast is reporting this.
Nightwalker83
Nov 30th, 2010, 06:51 PM
So far only avast is reporting this.
It could be one of those stupid things where they try and persuade the user to buy the paid version of the product.
JPnyc
Nov 30th, 2010, 08:09 PM
Whatever happened to good ol' threats of physical violence? I just don't know what's happening to this country sometimes…
vbforums.com
Copyright Internet.com Inc., All Rights Reserved.